Student Awards Night

Magruder’s Annual Awards Night

by Katherine Vu and Jenny Pham, staff writers

On June 11th, at 6:00 p.m, Magruder’s quad was filled with parents anxiously waiting to see their child on stage with their award. Blue and white balloons and congratulations posters decorated the stage.

This night was the highlight of the year and was encouraging to many students who put forth extra effort. Teachers chose students who excelled in school subjects, those who had high marks and excellent citizenship, all year long. This night was a public recognition honoring them for working hard over the school year.

A lot of students received the All-Around award. People given this award were the top students in all subjects, and were determined not only by academics, but also how they contributed to the school. Did you behave in class? Did you have school spirit? Did you ever help out the campus? All of these kids could probably have answered yes.


For 6th Grade:


Esther Cash                                                    Marla Mendoza Cerrato

Sarah Clark                                                     Joel Duran

Steven Fernandez                                          Maritza Hurtado

Ramzy Issa                                                    

Jacob Wong                                                    Drake Konishi

Bryan Lakin                                                     Yadira Lopez

Rita Nguyen                                                    Jessica Nowak

Brandon Pascua                                             Armando Vega


For 7th Grade:

Max Arnold

Melody Garcia

Jillian Glickman

Daniela Hua

Phoebe Kim

Hana Lee

Christiana Ma

Aaron McGuire

Sara Mohammad

Christian Nelson

Catherine Phu

Jennifer Ton

Kayla Vo

Katherine Vu


For 8th Grade:


Evan Abraham

Shendey Casas

Khoa Do

Shayla Escudero

Allison Farr

Alan Hardwick

Balpreet Kaur

Jeehoon Kim

Daniel Kiraloss

Jennifer Lee

Irene Morales

Shaylen Nelson

Michelle Ngo

Aaron Nguyen

Karen Bailey

Kathleen Nguyen

Babra Noor

Rhea Paterri

Alyse Pelayo

Makenna Penueta

Ross Piscetello

Keina Saito

Kayne Toyosato

Catherine Vo

Gabriella Waas

Marissa Yip

James Youseff

The Students of the Year for sixth grade are Drake Konishi and Jessica Nowak. The seventh grade Students of the Year are Hana Lee and Jamel Hopkins. The eighth grade winners of this award are kept secret! None of the student body will know until the Eighth Grade Promotion.

Congratulations to all the awardees this year. You all worked really hard and put a lot of effort into what you did this school year. Don’t worry if you didn’t get an award. If you do your best, you can get an award next year.

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.